Clearing Search and Location History in Google Maps on the web

Google is literally everywhere these days. We are all aware of the fact that Google tracks every internet step of ours. So here we bring you some power to understand the way Google does it and have control of how much you allow Google to stalk you.

To start with, you’ll need to make sure you’re signed into your Google account and go to the Google Location History dashboard on the web. Here, you’ll see every bit of history Google has logged for where your Google-connected devices have been located, that is if you have chosen location reporting on the device.

You can opt to look up the history day-by-day using the calendar on the left side of the screen, with the map on the right populating the information collected on that day. The red dots that can be seen are places that your devices have been, and this is where Google does its best at coordinating time-stamps to show each of your locations throughout that day, but if you have more than one Android device turned on with location reporting, your map won’t be much useful for determining where you went because maps thinks you only move in between the the location of the two devices.

If you don’t want Google to keep track of your data from a specific day or set of days, you can use the drop-down menu under the calendar to select a time period and then click the Delete history from this time period link below it. You will get a pop–up window asking you to confirm, and explain that it may take up to 24 hours for the data to be deleted completely from the dashboard.

In case you wish to delete all location data Google has from your devices — which may not be a bad idea from time-to-time if you want to keep things fresh — you can simply click the Delete all history link on the left. Again you’ll be asked to confirm, and it may take up to 24 hours for everything to be cleared out. But once you do it, Google will no longer have any of that data.

If it shocks you as to how much location data is being stored from your devices, you can choose to look at the location history settings on your devices. The interface may look slightly different depending on your phone but everyone can access the location history settings by going into their app drawer and opening the Google Settings app (a grey icon shaped like a gear). Then, you can then tap Location, which will launch you into your phone’s location settings screen.

Once there, look for an entry called Google Location Reporting and tap it. You’ll then see all of your active Google Accounts on the device listed, and two entries under each: Location Reporting and Location History. You can turn either one or both off, if you don’t further want any tracking of your device.

For more such tech news,android updates and tutorials, keep visiting techgipsy.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *